About District

Kasganj is the 71th district in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. The district and particularly the city Kasganj is popularly known as because it was established in a thick forest of “kans”. Kasganj was also known as “Tanay” or “Khasganj” during Mughal and British period. Kasganj comes in the Aligarh division jurisdiction. The district was created on April 17, 2008 by dividing Etah district and is renamed as Kanshiram Nagar. Popular area of the district includes Nadrai, Soron, Patiyali. Kasganj the newly created district is among the four districts of Aligarh Division. Kasganj includes three Tehsils Kasganj, Sahawar and Patiyali.
Situated on the banks of river Kali, the town is in proximity of the Himalayan foothills. It is located in the Doab, the area between the holy rivers Ganges and Yamuna and the alluvium soil makes the land one of the most fertile regions. A large number of surrounding villages depend on agriculture and related economic activities. Area of Kasganj district is 1993.08 sq km and is at 68th place in Uttar Pradesh in terms of area of the district. The rural area covers 1918.2 sq km and urban recorded 75.6 sq km. There are 715 villages. The district is devided into three tehsil namely Kasganj, Sahawar and Patiyali and seven blocks including Sahawar, Kasganj, Amanpur, Soron, Sidhpura, Ganj Dundwara, Patiyali. The district head quarter is located at Kasganj.
The district headquarters Kasganj is very well connected by Grand Trunk (G.T.) road and also connected by rail broad gauge line of Northern Eastern Railway with Tundla junction (on Delhi – Howrah main line). Kasganj district is surrounded by Farukkhabad in east, Aligarh in west, Etah district in north and south is surrounded by Badaun.
Gross district domestic productivity in Kasganj district largely depends up on agriculture and animal husbandry, Forestry and logging, transportation, mining and quarrying and manufacturing units.
The district is situated in the western part of the state. It lies in the central portion of the Ganga and
Yamuna doab and is bounded on the north-east side by the river Ganga, which separates it from the Budaun district. The drainage system of the district is controlled by the river Ganga and its tributaries, namely river Kali and Burhi Ganga. The river Kali is perennial and the remaining tributaries are ephemeral.

Click here–>Census 2011 At a Glance